Nike Women’s 15k Toronto!

June 14, 2015 a day that will live forever in my memory, it was the day that I prove to myself that mind over matter always wins and that no matter what you’re going through,  you will always see the finish line.

image
Image Courtesy of Gameface Media

The weekend started off with an awesome floating studio in lake ontario called “Crystal Coliseum” design specially to do #NTC live classes inspired from the app and lead by Nike Master trainer’s from NYC, Chicago and L.A.

image
Floating Crystal Coliseum at Lake Ontario

NRC (Nike Run Club) was also offering their local runs and shakeout runs leading to Race day. I was able to do a few and I’m glad I did because after being in Cancun for 3 weeks doing nothing but enjoying the sun, I really needed the wake up call to my muscles and mind.

image
Photo Credit: Jess Baumung (@jessbaumung)
image
Nika and yours truly being silly at the ferry going to Toronto Island

The time was here and I was being called, as I approached the starting line so many thoughts crossed my mind and the number one of them was DON’T GIVE UP. Started running and running some more, I felt great all the way until I hit the 12k mark there it got though because I could see everyone pass me and my mind was overpowering my body, my muscles were contracting and I felt everything was hurting and then I stopped, yes I stopped running for 1 minute and I got my shit together and started to run again and this time my mind had one goal to shut the hell up and I did it, I ran and ran and ran and saw every single detail in the way, the landscape, the people cheering, the runners, the pavement, the road and when I realized there was no more road but the finish line, I pushed myself and ran faster to cross that finish line.

image
Image Courtesy of Gameface Media
image
Image Courtesy of Gameface Media

This race was everything I expected and more, I had the best time running and it was just a simple reminder that we can do anything when we are willing to fight and to now that the finish line is just around the corner, also helped that the finishers medal was a pretty Tiffany necklace.

Cheers to everyone who ran and to everyone who helped organize the event and the spectators cheering and the #NTCleangirlscrew and the #NRCcrew.

image
One of the many signs across Downtown Toronto
image
Me at the Nike Women’s Village at the Harbourfront
image
Photo Credit: Jess Baumung (@jessbaumung)
image
Image Courtesy of Gameface Media

image
Thank you for reading, until the next one!

Leave a Reply

